CHRISTOPHER SPELMAN

BIO

Christopher Spelman is a New York based composer whose soundtrack work has received high praise from reviewers and fans alike. He has scored four films for James Gray, including ARMAGEDDON TIME, which premiered recently to outstanding reviews at the 2022 Cannes Film Festival. He began his film career with student shorts and then worked as a musical consultant with Gray on the director's THE YARDS (2000) and WE OWN THE NIGHT (2007). The soundtrack album of his score for THE LOST CITY OF Z was released by Filmtrax in June of 2017.

Spelman grew up in the western part of Massachusetts where he began formal piano lessons at age four, eventually switching to violin in elementary school. As a teenager he became a self-taught guitarist and developed a love for the blues that has stayed with him ever since. He first studied orchestral classical music as a student at Columbia University (which is also when he became infatuated with opera); more recently his ongoing musical education has taken him to Juilliard.

AWARDS / NOMINATIONS

INTERNATIONAL CINEPHILE SOCIETY AWARD NOMINATION

LOST CITY OF Z

(2018)

Best Original Score

INTERNATIONAL ONLINE CINEMA AWARDS (2017)

LOST CITY OF Z

Best Original Score

FEATURE FILMS

ARMAGEDDON TIME Marc Butan, James Gray, Anthony Katagas,

Focus Features Rodrigo Teixeira, Alan Terpins, prods.

James Gray, dir.

THE LOST CITY OF Z Dede Gardner, James Gray, Dale Armin Johnson,

Plan B Entertainment Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, prods.

James Gray, dir.

THE IMMIGRANT James Gray, Anthony Katagas, Greg Shapiro,

Worldview Entertainment Christopher Woodrow, prods.

James Gray, dir.

1

CHRISTOPHER SPELMAN

TWO LOVERS

Wild Bunch *Arranger

WE OWN THE NIGHT

Columbia Pictures *Music Consultant

THE YARDS

Miramax

*Music Consultant

Donna Gigliotti, James Gray, Anthony Katagas, prods. James Gray, dir.

Marc Butan, Joaquin Phoenix, Mark Wahlberg, Nick Wechsler, prods. James Gray, dir.

Kerry Orent, Paul Webster, Nick Wechsler, prods. James Gray, dir.